Our Verdict on the McDonald’s McRib: WORTH IT or NAH?

So I’ve tried the new craze that McDonald’s Philippines had to offer to the general public today – the McRib. It was a very warm day and my wife invited me out to Mickey D’s for some McFlurry before turning in for the night (or morning as we are night-shifters). I was, in my mind, thinking of maybe getting some nuggets together with my Oreo-filled soft serve just for a treat but upon getting there, I got excited as I saw the big poster for McDonald’s new item on their menu! I convinced myself, and my wife eventually, that I just HAD to try it out to see what the hype is all about. mcrib1 So there I was, ordering my McRib together with my already-planned McNuggets, getting all excited about the whole thing. After all, I love pork ribs. I love caramelized onions. And dill pickles won’t be bad too.

I noticed that for all the other cashier lines, people are also ordering the same thing. I can clearly hear the other cashiers explaining the McRib to the customers who, very much like myself are eager to try and join the hype!

I was asked if I wanted the McRib or the McRib Deluxe. I noticed that the McRib had the onions and pickles on it, while the deluxe version had lettuce with mayonnaise. Being the “deluxe” version, I asked if it also came with onions and dill pickles (as, like anyone would think, “deluxe” would mean something special – something in the light of having everything in it).  The cashier said yes, making me choose the deluxe over the regular as additional lettuce and mayonnaise wouldn’t be bad at all. I paid the bill, grabbed our order and headed to our table.

I was so eager to try out this new thing and see if this would be my new go-to snack for a quick fix. I would like to apologize if the photos are not as good as they should be, the McDonald’s trip was unplanned and trying out (and blogging about) the new McRib never came across my mind till I got there so none of us remembered to bring the camera.

Actual photo of my McRib deluxe and nuggets
Actual photo of my McRib deluxe and nuggets

To cut the long story short, here is my verdict:

Good points

  • For P119 a la carte, the size (and the taste) is at par with the expectation and the shell out
  • I like pork, so the pork patty definitely was a big plus for me
  • The bun was different from their regular burger buns, it went well with the whole thing
  • Can’t complain with the sauce as barbeque has always been a favourite
  • I would definitely get this again over McDonald’s other sandwich-type products

Bad points

  • The pork patty didn’t resemble a “pork rib” at all; it was more like processed ground pork which more resembled Mickey D’s McNuggets
  • The deluxe did not contain all toppings unlike what the cashier said; it seems that she just said yes so that I’d purchase the more expensive version (while in fact I’d prefer onions and pickles over lettuce and mayo any day) Tsk, tsk… Sales talk 101.
  • Why would lettuce and mayo be the chosen toppings for the “deluxe” version while they’re the most basic ingredient in any other regular burger; one would think caramelized onions and dill pickles would be the more expensive option
  • For me of course, It was a waste to pay more for the “deluxe” version as I really wanted the onions and pickles over the lettuce and mayonnaise
Reading the fine print, it says: “Tender and seasoned pork smothered with McDonald’s special McRib sauce – a sweet, smoky, tangy, western barbeque-style sauce – sandwiched in fresh caramelized bread. Enjoy it with dill pickles and fresh slivered onions or shredded lettuce and creamy mayonnaise to complete this one delicious experience.” Clearly it was a choice between the two toppings.
Reading the fine print, it says: “Tender and seasoned pork smothered with McDonald’s special McRib sauce – a sweet, smoky, tangy, western barbeque-style sauce – sandwiched in fresh caramelized bread. Enjoy it with dill pickles and fresh slivered onions or shredded lettuce and creamy mayonnaise to complete this one delicious experience.” Clearly it was a choice between the two toppings.

In summary, it was an okay meal. I’d say I’d definitely still get it again, but next time I’ll make sure to get just the regular version. It was over-hyped in my opinion, but nonetheless edible and has potential. I personally enjoyed my McNuggets more than this to be honest, which led me to thinking… McNuggets smothered in the classic McNuggets sauce dip sandwiched in fresh caramelized bread… mmmmm. Now why are you not funding this, McDonald’s? mcrib4

Or just look at this beautiful masterpiece of a McRib… a McRib with mozzarella cheese and bacon. If only it was always this way, the world would be a better place.

Photo by Chris Durso
One thought on “Our Verdict on the McDonald’s McRib: WORTH IT or NAH?

Leave a Reply

